header mornings

Monday, 16 April 2018 06:26

Sarah Kay's Nashville News, Week of 4/16/18

Written by

morningShow nashvilleNews 2018


Thursday, 4/19

AJ McLean of the Backstreet Boys is going country…
Carrie Underwood to release a new album…


AJ McLean of the Backstreet Boys is going country! Well, he says he is drawing inspiration from country music for an upcoming solo album.
Florida Georgia Line partnered with the Backstreet Boys for "God, Your Mama and Me" in 2017, taking the song to No. 1 on Billboard's Country Airplay chart and being in Nashville left an impression on AJ.
He says, "I want to come in and I want to disrupt country. I want to shift. I want to shake things up just like FGL did. So, you guys are in for a treat."

Carrie Underwood announced she will release a brand new album called ‘Cry Pretty’ later this year.
She says, “At this point in my career, I feel stronger and more creative than ever. I think you can hear that in this new album. It’s emotional, it’s soulful, it’s real, and we also have some fun on there too. I hope everyone loves it as much as I have loved making it.”
Not only did Carrie co-write the lead single, “Cry Pretty,” she also co-produced the entire album. It is set for release on September 14th.


Wednesday, 4/18

Tim and Faith are standing by Ed Sheeran…
Sam Hunt got a bunch of Billboard Music Award nominations… 

Tim McGraw and Faith Hill are standing by Ed Sheeran, who wrote their duet "The Rest of Our Life."
Ed is being sued by the writers of "When I Found You," who claim he ripped off their song, which was a hit for an Australian singer. Tim and Faith are named in the suit, but say they legally licensed the song, so there is no issue with them singing it. 
Ed says the song is an original. Tim and Faith are backing him up-- but if it's proven in court that the song is a ripoff, then Ed's on his own.

Sam Hunt received five nominations for the Billboard Music Awards, including the all-genre Billboard's Chart Achievement Award and Top Selling Song for "Body Like a Back Road."
Chris Stapleton grabbed four nods, including Top Selling Album for From A Room: Volume 1.
Kane Brown, Thomas Rhett and Florida Georgia Line got three nominations each.
The awards will air live from Las Vegas on ABC on May 20th.


Tuesday, 4/17

Sugarland reveals track listing for new album…
Jordan Davis gets his first #1… 

Sugarland will release their first new studio album in eight years on June 8th. 
Bigger includes 11 new songs, 10 of which the Jennifer and Kristian wrote themselves. The one additional tune, titled "Babe," Taylor Swift and Train's Pat Monahan wrote -- and will even feature Taylor on the track.

Jordan Davis has scored his first number-one song in country music! "Singles You Up" hit the top of the Mediabase Country Airplay chart this week. It steals the throne from Luke Bryan's three-week number-one, "Most People Are Good." Making it to the top of the Country Airplay chart is a huge deal, especially with a debut single!


Monday, 4/16

2018 ACM Winners… 

For the third year in a row, Jason Aldean nabbed the coveted Entertainer of the Year award at the 53rd annual ACM Awards on Sunday night.

It was also a huge night for Chris Stapleton. It was his birthday, he won 3 awards-  Male Vocalist of the Year and Album of the Year, which earned him two awards as both an artist and producer, and he welcomed his twin boys, which host Reba McEntire announced after he won his first award of the night.

Miranda Lambert held onto her Female Vocalist of the Year title for the ninth year in a row, continuing to hold the record for most wins in this category. She also scored the Song of the Year Award for “Tin Man,” which brought her two awards as both the artist and the songwriter. Her wins made her the most-awarded artist in ACM Awards history, with 32 wins.
Prior to the show, Brothers Osborne were presented with both the Vocal Duo of the Year Award, for the second year in a row, and the Video of the Year Award for “It Ain’t My Fault.”

Other winners included Old Dominion, Sam Hunt, Lauren Alaina, Midland and Brett Young.

Last modified on Thursday, 19 April 2018 06:33

echo nobg